We enabled versioning for the website repository without using the workflow module. Versioning is enabled on the 'activate' and 'deactivate' commands.
When we delete a page and restore the deleted version, the comment in the version history repeats itself for all the following versions created by activations.
See attached screenshot:
1. version created before deletion
2. version created before restoration
3. followup activation, copies comment