The rich text editor does not persist edits made within “source view”. It will only persist if you switch back to the normal view. Changes made within source view will be erased if you click the save button without switching to normal view.
It is expected that the edits persist after clicking the save button without having to switch to the normal view again
Steps to reproduce :
1 - Create or edit a page
2 - Add the rich text component
3 - Switch to “source view”
4 - Add some text
5 - Click save
You will notice no changes are made and if you click edit again, the changes have been removed from the rich text editor dialog.
Note: This issue is only seen in 5.5.3 and not in 5.4.11