Tasks currently can only be removed from the list of tasks (in Pulse) when they're marked as "completed". The only way to mark them "completed" is by either accepting or rejecting them. Completed tasks may then be removed from the list with the corresponding action.
This leaves a gap in the current user experience, as you can't remove or delete tasks which have become obsolete. Typical cases are workflows, which were started initially - during development or while setting up a new site -, but were eventually canceled or deleted. Such workflows often leave dozens of tasks in Pulse, which are no longer relevant.
We should allow tasks to be aborted, which would:
- abort the corresponding workflow
- remove the task from the list of tasks
The abort action should be available as bulk action as well to allow for easy handling of a large set of tasks. If should consider to ask users to first "assign to me" all tasks they intend to abort to ensure for a clean audit trail, but this has to be discussed more thoroughly first.